Benerator Capabilities

suggest/request new features

Benerator Capabilities

Postby vj_cognizant » Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:12 am

Hi Volker,

I am new to benerator tool.
I wanted to check about couple of features whether this tools has or not: -
(1) Can the process of extracting schema details from DB and populating tables with the generated data be make automatic? Just with a single click.
(2) Does it do the Data profiling & sampling – to automatically detect data semantics?
(3) Can we generate exactly same data in every run of this tool? Lets say I generate data on 1-Nov-2010 for the entire database. For my next release I want to generate the same set of data say on 1-Dec-2010. Is it possible?
(4) It says - "The following SQL types are not yet supported: ARRAY, DISTINCT, NULL, STRUCT", is there any workaround?

Thanks in advance.
Regards,
Vijay
vj_cognizant

Re: Benerator Capabilities

Postby Volker Bergmann » Fri Oct 15, 2010 3:32 pm

Hi Vijay,

(1) Can the process of extracting schema details from DB and populating tables with the generated data be make automatic? Just with a single click.

The process of defining data generation simply _cannot_ be automized if you want to generate valid data for non-trivial applications. Do not believe anybody who promises a zero-work-and-knowledge approach to generate something different than garbage. Of course, after generation is configured, you can easily invoke and repeat data generation by a single click on an Eclipse or Hudson button or whatever you prefer as development IDE or build tool ;-)

(2) Does it do the Data profiling & sampling – to automatically detect data semantics?

No, I am planning on some features, but for next year.

(3) Can we generate exactly same data in every run of this tool? Lets say I generate data on 1-Nov-2010 for the entire database. For my next release I want to generate the same set of data say on 1-Dec-2010. Is it possible?

No, Benerator is not designed to generate deterministic data.